CHP Corner



American Academy of Health Physics American Board of Health Physics Website: <u>aahp-abhp.org</u>

CHPs Needed for the ABHP Part 1 Panel of Examiners

Nora Nicholson, CHP, ABHP Chair

The American Board of Health Physics (ABHP) Part 1 Panel of Examiners needs new members. Certified health physicists (CHPs) with expertise in the medical and power reactor fields are especially needed. Members serve a four-year term, meeting once a year in McLean, Virginia, to review and develop new questions for the exam bank and review the exam performance. If you are interested in serving, *please, please* contact the panel chair, Cindy Flannery (cindy.flannery@nrc.gov), or vice-chair, Paul Jones (paul.jones@npo.doe.gov).

Nominating Committee Update

Dale D. Thomas III, CHP, Chair

The Nominating Committee is composed of nine plenary members of the American Academy of Health Physics (AAHP) whose primary task is to put together a slate of candidates for open positions on the AAHP Executive Committee, the American Board of Health Physics (ABHP), and the three AAHP representatives on the American Board of Medical Physics (ABMP). Nominating Committee members are drawn from a wide variety of geographical areas and health physics disciplines. The intent is that the committee members' diverse circles of influence will then result in both a large and a balanced pool of certified health physicist candidates for elective office.

The committee contacts potential nominees for elective office, reviews their eligibility and willingness to serve, ranks the candidates, and forwards the slate of candidates to the Executive Committee. Working closely with the ABHP, the committee also selects and ranks potential candidates for open positions on the Board. The Nominating Committee is also charged with identifying qualified candidates for the Academy positions on the ABMP.

Members who are continuing terms or beginning new terms on the Nominating Committee in 2014 include ABHP Vice Chair Patrick LaFrate, Cynthia Connelly, Morgan Cox, Christine Donahue, Toshihide Ushino, Earl Fordham, and Robert Morris. The committee would like to thank outgoing committee members Kurt Geber, Glenn Sturchio, and the departing Nominating Committee Chair Gary Kephart for their service.

The Nominating Committee strongly encourages Academy members to submit names of potential candidates for elected office or to volunteer to be considered themselves. Past service on the ABHP Examination Panels, Academy standing committees, or the ABHP is helpful but is not a prerequisite. Your interest and enthusiasm are the lifeblood of the AAHP.

Continuing Education Committee Update

Jim Willison, CHP, Chair

Preparations for the Health Physics Society (HPS) summer meeting in Baltimore are ongoing. The Continuing Education Committee is arranging for three eight-hour courses to be held on Saturday, 12 July 2014. First, we have Ed Waller presenting the course "Nuclear Security for the Health Physicist." Our second and third courses are still pending. The abstracts for all three courses will be available in the meeting's preliminary program. I encourage you all to take the opportunity to attend one of these courses and perhaps learn something new. Each course is only \$275 and also earns the attendee 16 continuing education credits.

As always, the committee is also on the lookout for topics and instructors for two courses at the 2015 HPS Midyear Meeting in Norfolk and three courses at the 2015 HPS Annual Meeting in Indianapolis.

.

This years' committee consists of April Chance, Mark Hogue, Alan Jackson, Scott Schwahn, Robert Sitsler, and me. Aside from arranging for the courses, the committee also has the responsibility of reviewing activities that are submitted by certified health physicists for continuing credit.

Address contributions for CHP News and "CHP Corner" to:

Editor Kyle Kleinhans, CHP Work: 865-241-1024 Email: <u>klink17@tds.net</u> Associate Editor Harry Anagnostopoulos, CHP Work: 610-337-5322 Email: <u>anaghw@yahoo.com</u>